Sair Heeds competition

Following the recent course closed emails, the re arranged Sair Heeds for Saturday 16th January has been cancelled in line with the covid protocols We will get this played at a later date once restrictions are eased and we are able to play competition golf.

Championships Day

A fantastic Championship Day at Gifford- well done to all the finalists.
The weather was amazing and well done to the winners, Annie Hunter ladies champion and Dawn Hardie our Bronze Champion Molly Glover Bowl winner and to Dave Shearer our Club Champion and to Richard Waddell on winning the B Championships and to Connor Cook on winning the Junior Championship.
Thank you to all who helped make today a success and a big thank you to Andy and Dotty for their excellent service!
Thanks to Molly Glover for coming up to support the finalists.
Thanks to all the supporters, it was great to see so many on the course getting behind the finalists.
Last but not least thank you to Jamie and Coco for working hard to get the course in tip top condition for the Championships.

The Club Championships

Firstly, congratulations to you those reaching the finals of the Championships .

Mens A Division Final 36 Holes
David Shearer v James Lothian

Mens B Division Final 18 holes
Richard Waddell v Alex Renton

Ladies Championship Final 18 holes
Annie Hunter v Fiona Hopkinson

Ladies Bronze Championship (Molly Glover Bowl) Final 18 holes
Yvonne Archibald v Dawn Hardie

Junior Championship Final 18 holes
Harry Edwardson v Connor Cook

Please note the tee times as follows:
Mens A – 9.00 and 12.30
Mens B – 12.40
Ladies Championship – 12.50
Ladies Bronze Championship(Molly Glover Bowl) – 13.00
Junior Championship – 13.10

Clubhouse will be open for food and drink HOWEVER no changing facilities will be available.

Caddies will be allowed HOWEVER only from the same household. (In keeping with Scottish Government guidelines.)

Supporters will be encouraged to come along as long as Covid rules are adhered to in and around clubhouse and on the course. (In keeping with Scottish Government guidelines.)

Photos will be taken of the Finalists and the winners (physically distancing).

A further communication will follow with regards Presentation.

Good Luck to you all – any questions, please ask.

Best Wishes
Ladies Convenor

EGGS competitions

I have booked out 3 Consecutive Tuesdays, the 29th September, 6th and 13th October, between 9am and 10 am, in order for us to play our three 18 hole medals.

All are stableford off national hcps from the yellow tees and must be putted out.

They are counters so 1 card per group must be completed and left in the clubhouse to be entered on box later. ( scores per hole will be sufficient )

Names to me by phone or email please and I’ll inform you of time and groupings.


Covid update

From the 15 August:

The temporary switching of the 1st & 10th tee has ended. All games should commence at the 1st tee.

The clubhouse is now open Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday – 10:00 to 15:00, (except during club qualifiers when it will open at 8:00 for Gents 9:30 for Ladies).

1. On entry to the clubhouse keep to the left and follow the signage.
2. A hand sanitiser station will be available for your use.
3. Please enter your name and telephone number on the sheet provided on the bureau.
4. Table service only.
5. Contactless payment only.
6. Observe social distancing.

Club Championships

The Club Championship has been adapted this year due to the limited time remaining in the season.

We have agreed that the qualification will be decided on the best gross score from 2 possible qualifying rounds to determine the 16 A and B qualifiers for the knockout rounds.
The Gents Qualifying days are:
Q1 to be held Saturday 15 August
Q2 to be held Sunday 23 August.

The Ladies & Juniors Qualifying days are:
Q1 to be held on Sunday 16 August
Q2 to be held on Saturday 22 August

Gents & Ladies tee times will be available from 8.00am – 3pm, Juniors from 3pm. Book yourself into either or both of these qualifiers via How Did I Do. Any player unable to book who wishes to play, should email Peter on with their name, and a 2 hour window when they wish to play.

The each round of 16 will be seeded based on scoring and players will be advised ASAP after the completion of Q2 of their qualification and opponent.

Rounds of 16, quarter finals and semi finals should be organised at a date and time to suit individuals.

1st round to finish by 30 August
2nd round to finish by 6th September
3rd round to finish by 13th September
The finals will be played 19th September.

NB Tee off from the 1st tee. Covid guidelines apply.

EGGS buggy bridge

The new Eggs Buggy Bridge over the Speedy burn has been completed by Alex the stonemason from Tranent.

Thanks to him for a great job and of course to our anonymous doner in the Eggs.

A hard standing path up to the 3rd tee is now required for the buggies in inclement weather.

Good luck to all who traverse her!


Ladies Super Seniors – 18 Sep 2019

Another fab day at Gifford. Thanks to you all who supported our Super Seniors Open .
Well done to the winners
1st Helen Warnock from Harburn 22 points
2nd Frances Mowatt 17 points CB
3rd Janice Duguid from Ravelston 17 points
Nearest pin – no winners
Nearest wiggly line – Di Shakspeare
Guess the golfer – Ben Crenshaw – Maggie Allan
No 2’s – proceeds to Marie Curie
Thanks go to – Jamie and Coco, course was in great condition.
Shirley and Sarah on the bar and in the kitchen, excellent !
June Forson for supplying the bananas.
Jeanie Cole for the beautiful flowers.
Sylvia for the lovely prize envelopes.
Last but not least my committee for putting it all together.


Ladies’ Bronze Championship (Molly Glover Bowl)

On Saturday 31 August the final took place between Beth Scott and Sally Lucas. It was a very hard fought contest going to 18th with Beth coming out on top.

It was nice to see Molly Glover seeing the ladies off at the 1st.